Steve Smith and...- India TV Hindi

Image Source: TWITTER
Steve Smith and Hardik Pandya

IND vs AUS 1st ODI: The first match of the ODI series will be played between India and Australia at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. Team India will play the 20th ODI on this ground. In 2011, on this ground, Team India defeated Sri Lanka in the final of the ODI World Cup after a historic victory. But apart from that, Team India also got some such defeats which are not easy to forget. ODI match is going to be held at Wankhede Stadium after almost three years. The Indian team last landed here in January 2020, about three years ago. The special thing is that Australia was in front in that match too but India had to face defeat by 10 wickets. Let’s know now more special figures related to this ground. Also, what is the mood of the pitch here, will also look into it.

A total of 27 One Day Internationals have been played at Wankhede so far. Out of which the team batting first has won 13 times, while chasing 14 times the teams have won. Talking about Team India, he has played a total of 19 ODIs here. Out of which he has won 10 and has also faced defeat in 9. And the last time the team won here was in 2011. The Indian team won against England in October, after which almost 12 years are going to pass but the team is waiting for the victory. The effect of the toss can be seen on this ground. The captain winning the toss can decide to bowl first.

How is the Wankhede pitch?

On the other hand, if we talk about the pitch, then the highest score on this ground has been 438, which was made by South Africa. At the same time, the lowest total here has been 79 runs. The most successful chase here has been 284 by New Zealand against India. This plain is not counted among the very large plains of India. The pitch here has often been more helpful to the batsmen. Sometimes the bowlers become effective in the second innings. This happens when the pitch slows down. Usually high scoring matches are seen here. That is, we can say that there can be a great match on this wicket where both bowlers and batsmen can get help from time to time.

Wankhede highlights

  • 1st innings average score – 240
  • 2nd innings average score – 201
  • Highest Score – 438/4 (50), SA vs IND
  • Lowest Score – 79/10 (27.1), INDW vs AUSW
  • Highest chased score – 284/4 (49), NZ vs IND
  • Lowest chased score – 192/9 (50), WI vs IND

Squads of both the teams

Team India: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, KL Rahul, Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Hardik Pandya (vice-captain), Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohammed Shami, Mohammad Siraj, Umran Malik, Shardul Thakur, Akshar Patel and Jaydev Unadkat

(Rohit Sharma is not present in the first ODI)

Australia: Steve Smith (captain), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Nathan Ellis, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa.

Read this also:-

Latest Cricket News


Read More about Sports