Hardik’s ODI debut as captain, will match these legendary players

Image Source : GETTY
Hardik Pandya

The first match of the three ODI series between India and Australia will be played today (March 17) at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. Team India will be captained by star all-rounder Hardik Pandya in this match. India’s regular captain Rohit Sharma is not playing the first ODI due to family reasons. Hardik Pandya will debut as captain in ODIs against Australia and with this he will join the club of many legendary cricketers.

Hardik Pandya will join the club of these giants

Hardik Pandya will make a big feat as soon as he enters the first match as captain in ODIs. He will become the 27th player to captain India in ODIs. Mahendra Singh Dhoni has captained the maximum number of 200 matches for India, in which Team India has won 110 matches and lost 74 matches. India’s first captain in ODIs was Ajit Wadekar. He captained India in 2 matches, but the team could not win a single match.

Players who captained India in ODIs:

1. Ajit Wadekar – 2 matches

2. Srinivas Venkataraman – 7 matches
3. Bishan Singh Bedi – 4 matches
4. Sunil Gavaskar – 37 matches
5. Gundappa Biswanath – 1 match
6. Kapil Dev – 74 matches
7. Syed Karimani – 1 match
8. Mohinder Amarnath – 1 match
9. Ravi Shastri – 11 matches
10. Dilip Vengsakar – 18 matches
11. Krishnamachari Srikkanth – 13 matches
12. Mohammad Azharuddin – 174 matches
13. Sachin Tendulkar – 73 matches
14. Ajay Jadeja – 13 matches
15. Sourav Ganguly – 146 matches
16. Rahul Dravid – 79 matches
17. Anil Kumble – 1 match
18. Virender Sehwag – 12 matches
19. Mahendra Singh Dhoni – 200 matches
20. Suresh Raina – 12 matches
21. Gautam Gambhir – 6 matches
22. Virat Kohli – 95 matches
23. Ajinkya Rahane – 3 matches
24. Rohit Sharma – 24 matches
25. Shikhar Dhawan – 12 matches
26. KL Rahul – 7 matches

ODI World Cup will be held in India

India won the ODI World Cup in 1983 under the captaincy of Kapil Dev and in 2011 under the captaincy of Mahendra Singh Dhoni. ODI World Cup 2023 is to be held in India. Team India has already started preparations for the ODI World Cup. There is not much time left in the ODI World Cup. In such a situation, Team India would like to find the right team combination from the series against Australia.

India’s ODI Squad against Australia:

Team India: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, KL Rahul, Ishaan Kishan (Wicketkeeper), Hardik Pandya (Vice-Captain), Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umran Malik, Shardul Thakur, Akshar Patel and Jaydev Unadkat

(Rohit Sharma is not present in the first ODI)

Latest Cricket News


Read More about Sports

Exit mobile version